Categories: Music

PAN Records Re-Presses Our Favourite VA Compilation of the Decade: ‘mono no aware’ (もののあわれ)

mono no aware (もののあわれ) was the first compilation released on PAN, binding together unreleased ambient tracks from new and existing PAN artists.

The Record features Jeff Witscher, Helm, TCF, Yves Tumor, M.E.S.H., Pan Daijing, HVAD, Kareem Lotfy, ADR, Mya Gomez, Sky H1, James K, Oli XL, Bill Kouligas, Flora Yin-Wong, Malibu, and AYYA, who all in their individual contributions offer a sweeping tsunami of emotion and melodic ecstasy.

Mono no aware, meaning ‘the pathos of all things’ also translates to ‘an empathy towards things’, a meditation on mortality and the transience of life and its fundaments.

“In investigating the passing of time, the boundaries between memory and hallucinationbecome blurred; between fiction and reality. The movement of time transforms into an eternal present.”

The album is mastered and cut by Rashad Becker at D&M, featuring photography by Molly Matalonand layout by Bill Kouligas.

A limited version of 100 copies was released as a special art edition in collaboration with Mount Analog for the LA Art Book Fair 2017, and went on general release via PANboth physically/digitally on 17th March 2017.

Purchase on Vinyl or MP3 here.


$25.00 show me more